CHICAGO, IL - Michael S. Willner, President of Insight Communications, was elected Chairman of the Board of Directors of the National Cable & Telecommunications Association during a board meeting held today at the Cable 2001 national convention in Chicago. Other officers elected for 2001-2002 were:
  • Vice Chairman: Jerald L. Kent, President and CEO, Charter Communications
  • Secretary: John J. Rigas, President, CEO and Chairman of the Board, Adelphia Communications Corporation
  • Treasurer: Brian L. Roberts, President, Comcast Corporation
In addition to the officers and NCTA President and CEO Robert Sachs, the NCTA Executive Committee will include:
  • Decker Anstrom, President and CEO, The Weather Channel
  • Matthew C. Blank, Chairman and CEO, Showtime Networks, Inc.
  • Joseph J. Collins, Chairman and CEO, Time Warner Cable
  • Nickolas Davatzes, President and CEO, A&E Television Networks
  • James L. Dolan, President and CEO, Cablevision Systems Corporation
  • Robert Miron, President, Advance/Newhouse Communications
  • James O. Robbins, President and CEO, Cox Communications, Inc.
  • Daniel E. Somers, President and CEO, AT&T Broadband
The following directors were elected to a new term on the board:
  • Associate Director: (re-elected to a two-year term): John M. Egan, Chairman of the Board, ANTEC
  • At Large System Directors: Ronald Duncan, President and CEO, GCI Cable Inc. (newly-elected to a three-year term); James D. Pearson, President and CEO, U.S. Cable Corporation (re-elected to a three-year term)
  • At-Large Programmer Directors: (re-elected to a two-year term): Nickolas Davatzes, President and CEO, A&E Television Networks; John S. Hendricks, Chairman and CEO, Discovery Communications, Inc.; Haim Saban, CEO, Saban Entertainment/Fox Family Worldwide
  • At-Large Directors (newly-elected to a two-year term): Geraldine Laybourne, Chairman and CEO, Oxygen Media, Inc.; Maggie Wilderotter, President and CEO, Wink Communications Rural/Small System Operator Director (re-elected to a two-year term): Joseph S. Gans, III, President and CEO, Gans Multimedia Partnership
Other NCTA Directors are:
  • George W. Bodenheimer, President, ESPN, Inc.
  • Peter P. Brubaker, President/CEO, Susquehanna Media Co.
  • Rocco B. Commisso, Chairman & CEO, Mediacom LLC
  • Frank M. Drendel, Chairman and CEO, CommScope, Inc.
  • John D. Evans, Chairman & CEO, Evans Telecommunications Co.
  • Joseph H. Floyd, President/COO, Midcontinent Communications
  • Robert L. Johnson, Chairman and CEO, BET Holdings, Inc.
  • Jamie Kellner, Chairman and CEO, Turner Broadcasting System
  • Thomas O. Might, President & CEO, Cable ONE
  • Gary Shorman, President & CEO, Eagle Communications
  • Richard Sjoberg, President & CEO, Sjoberg’s Inc.
  • Kelvin R. Westbrook, President & CEO, Millennium Digital Media
# # #