Convention Agenda Tops at 53 Sessions, 290 Speakers

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The National Cable & Telecommunications Association (NCTA) today announced the participants for the three general sessions at The Cable Show 2013, the U.S. cable industry’s premier national event, on June 10-12, 2013, at the Washington Convention Center in Washington, DC.

All General Sessions will be streamed live at

Monday, June 10 at 10:00 a.m.

Welcome by The Cable Show co-chairs:

  • Patrick Esser, President, Cox Communications, Inc.
  • Abbe Raven, Chairman, A+E Networks

Keynote Talk:

  • Michael Powell, President & CEO, NCTA
  • Panel – Broadband Innovation

    Moderator: Jack Tapper, Chief Washington Correspondent & Anchor, "The Lead with Jack Tapper," CNN


    • Jim Bankoff, Chairman & CEO, Vox Media
    • Hosain Rahman, Founder & CEO, Jawbone
    • Ali Rowghani, Chief Operating Officer, Twitter, Inc.
    • Tom Rutledge, President & CEO, Charter Communications
    • Steve Shannon, GM of Content & Services, Roku

    Panel – Content Creation: The Networks’ Perspective

    Moderator: Cynthia Littleton, Editor-in-Chief, Television, Variety


    • Matthew Blank, Chairman & CEO, Showtime Networks Inc.
    • Joshua Sapan, President & CEO, AMC Networks Inc.
    • Anne Sweeney, Co-Chair, Disney Media Networks and President, Disney/ABC Television Group, The Walt Disney Company

    Tuesday, June 11 at 10:00 a.m.

    One-on-One Conversation:

    • Mignon Clyburn, Acting Chairwoman, Federal Communications Commission
    • Michael Powell, President & CEO, NCTA

    Demonstration and One-on-One Conversation:

    • Brian Roberts, Chairman & CEO, Comcast Corporation
    • Becky Quick, Co-Anchor, "Squawk Box," CNBC

    Panel – Cable on the World’s Stage

    Moderator: Becky Quick, Co-Anchor, "Squawk Box," CNBC


    • Philippe Dauman, President & CEO, Viacom, Inc.
    • Michael Fries, President & CEO, Liberty Global, Inc.
    • David Zaslav, President & CEO, Discovery Communications, Inc.

    Wednesday, June 12 at 10:15 a.m.

    One-on-One Conversation:

    • Jennifer Lopez, Chief Creative Officer of NUVOtv.

    Keynote Address:

    • Arne Duncan, Secretary, U.S. Department of Education

    Panel: Education & Technology.

    Moderator: Gloria Borger, Chief Political Analyst, CNN


    • David Cohen, Executive Vice President, Comcast Corporation
    • John Danner, Co-Founder & CEO, Zeal
    • Arne Duncan, Secretary, U.S. Department of Education
    • Valyncia Hawkins, Teacher, Anne Beers Elementary School

    Panel: Content Creation: The Producers’ Perspective

    Moderator: Lynette Rice, West Coast News Editor, Entertainment Weekly


    • Marc Cherry, Creator and Executive Producer, "Desperate Housewives" and "Devious Maids"
    • Mark Johnson, Executive Producer, "Breaking Bad" and "Rectify"
    • Joe Weisberg, Creator, Executive Producer and Writer, "The Americans"

    In addition to the three General Sessions, the Cable Show 2013 will feature 35 sessions in the educational track, 12 sessions in Imagine Park, and three breakfasts on international developments. The full list of sessions can be found in as well as on the show mobile app located on the front page of the website.

    All sessions are open to registered media. For additional information about The Cable Show 2013, visit and follow on Twitter @CableShow and #cable13.